Social Media Icons

Sunday, November 12, 2017

REVIEW: Sirens by Joseph Knox @josephknox__ @crownpublishing

by Joseph Knox
Crown Publishing

💊 AVAILABLE 2/20/18 💊

Huge thank you to Crown Publishing for this copy in return for my honest review.  

This debut novel is hopefully just a taste of what Joseph Knox has to give to us...  

The breathtakingly propulsive and stunningly assured debut thriller, perfect for readers of Tana French, Don Winslow and Dennis Lehane

The mission is suicide

Infiltrating the inner circle of enigmatic criminal Zain Carver is dangerous enough. Pulling it off while also rescuing Isabelle Rossiter, a runaway politician's daughter, from Zain's influence?

Impossible. That's why Aidan Waits is the perfect man for the job. Disgraced, emotionally damaged, and despised by his superiors. In other words, completely expendable. 

But Aidan is a born survivor. And as he works his way deep into Zain's shadowy world, he finds that nothing is as it seems. Zain is a mesmerizing, Gatsby-esque figure who lures young women into his orbit--women who have a bad habit of turning up dead. But is Zain really responsible? And will Isabelle be next? 

Before long, Aidan finds himself in over his head, cut loose by his superiors, and dangerously attracted to the wrong woman.

How can he save the girl if he can't even save himself?

My Review:

Wow you guys and gals. Where do I begin with this novel? First, I did NOT realize this was a DEBUT NOVEL. Whenever I'm WOWed by a debut novel, it's an automatic 5 star for me.

Let me begin by saying that is not a happy read and the protagonist is completely different than what you have come to know from your usual crime fiction reads. Aidan is not likable and a complete mess of a character... which just makes him all the more real. While I internally cringed at some of the actions he took and the decisions that he made, I found myself caring about him and rooting for him along the way. He drink and does drugs with abandon. His personal and professional life is going down the drain and while he's forced into certain situations, he does still want to try and do the right thing. I use the word try loosely here as we struggle to figure out which side he's actually on most of the time.

This book is dark, brooding, atmospheric and we get into the underbelly of the drug, gang, and corruption world where you really cannot trust anyone.. not even yourself. Short chapters keep you turning page after page. We see through Aidan's eyes only and it's a wild world to see from his perspective. Separated into six separate parts where the chapters start over at one shows the progression of the novel and Aidan's story.

While the last thing I need is another series to be tied to, I do hope that there is more to come from Aidan... or at the very least, that we all get more from this author. He's definitely one to keep an eye out for... set this on your TBR asap.

No comments

Leave a Comment