Social Media Icons

Sunday, November 19, 2017

BLOG TOUR: Lay Me To Rest by E. A. Clark @rararesources @eaclarkauthor @hqdigitaluk


Lay Me To Rest
by E. A. Clark
HQ Digital
Rachel's Random Resources

👻 AVAILABLE NOW ðŸ‘»

Happy to be today's stop on the blog tour for E. A. Clark's Lay Me To Rest.  This suspenseful ghost story will have you wondering about the shadows surround you.... 


Some secrets never stay buried for long…

Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.
She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…
Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?
A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson, Sarah Wray and Stella Duffy. You won’t be able to put it down!
Purchase from Amazon UKamzn.to/2k7xLmq
Purchase from Amazon USamzn.us
About the Author:

E. A. Clark lives in the Midlands with her husband and son, plus a rather temperamental cat, a rabbit and a chinchilla. She has three (now grown-up) children and five grandchildren. She is particularly partial to Italian food, decent red wine (or any coloured wine come to that …) and cake – and has been known to over-indulge in each on occasions.
She has a penchant for visiting old graveyards and speculating on the demise of those entombed beneath. Whilst she has written short stories and poetry for many years, a lifelong fascination with all things paranormal has culminated in her first novel for adults, Lay Me to Rest. The setting is inspired by her love of Wales, owing to her father’s Celtic roots.
Follow E.A. Clark on…

My Review:
This debut adult novel from E. A. Clark is ominous from the start.  We enter into a story of grief as Annie's husband has died and made her a widow at an early age... just to find out she's pregnant with their child.  This is also a story about secrets coming to light and a ghost that needs to be heard.  A fast paced book, the writing takes a little getting used to but doesn't take away from the read once you have conquered it. 
The author does a fantastic job with providing you an eerie setting.  Weirdly I had just talked about how I had woken up thinking I had heard a whispery, ghostly voice saying my name right in my ear.  To see this happening in this book just made my own experience all too real and now I feel weird being home by myself late at night. 😬
I think the readers will be surprised at the paranormal aspect of the book going in as it isn't clear in the blurb.  I do think that once you are aware of it (which is pretty obvious from the start) then your mind will start to wrap around the story and really feel for Annie and what she's going through. A proper atmospheric ghostly read and those who like this subtle genre won't be disappointed.

Follow along the blog tour for other thoughts!!




No comments

Leave a Comment