Social Media Icons

Thursday, September 14, 2017

REVIEW: Secrets of the Dead by Carol Wyer @carolewyer @bookouture

Secrets of the Dead
(DI Robyn Carter #2)
by Carol Wyer

🔥 Available NOW ðŸ”¥

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?

A bottle of bubble bath and colourful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.

When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying ‘all debts paid’, Detective Robyn Carter knows it’s just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognises the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can’t find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

Just when her leads have dried up, Robyn discovers an unsettling clue she thinks could unlock the case. But as she chases across the plush carpets and manicured lawns of the wealthy elite, honing in on the killer’s shocking motive, one of her own is put in terrible danger.

The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it’s too late?

A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first page till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott and Karin Slaughter.

My Review:

Ahhh, how I've missed you Robyn Carter.  Second in the DI Robyn Carter series, we get plunged back into her world with a new case she needs to solve.  Her first adventure drew me right in.  I loved her from the very beginning in Little Lost Girl - see my review for that here.  We get to learn more about her past and really find that connection this time around.  This time around there's been a death at the spa that doesn't seem quite suspicious.. but when Robyn's friend, Tricia, asks her to look into it, she can't help but at least take a deeper look into the situation.  Other deaths start to occur that are baffling but interrelated.  

Once again we have a story where seemingly different plot lines come together.  Robyn has always done things her own way.  This typically gets her in trouble but brings about a cast of characters that you also can't help falling in love with.  What I especially love about the author's writing is letting us glimpse into the mind of the antagonist.  We see his current state of mind and then flashbacks of him growing up and why he is the damaged soul that he is.  Not only does Robyn have to butt heads with some of her own colleagues and the press, she also has to maneuver her way around her boss's orders. Recruiting her cousin as a private investigator gives us even more of a glimpse into her lonely personal life and brings about the softer, more human side of her that we didn't quite get a grasp on in book one.

Carol Wyer is an author to be on the look out for.  We knew that with Little Lost Girl and she hasn't lost her touch here.  Her next book in this series, The Missing Girls, has been released today (9/14/17) and I'm off to devour it.  God speed to anyone who tries to interrupt me. 😉


1 comment:

  1. Chandra,
    I am totally blown away by your fantastic reviews. (This one and your review for Little Girl Lost.) So glad you love Robyn and I genuinely can't wait to find out your reaction to my latest, The Missing Girls. Thank you so much for posting this. Carol