Social Media Icons

Monday, September 11, 2017

BLOG TOUR: Strings: A Love Story by Megan Edwards @imbrifexbooks @meganedwards

Excited to be today's Blog Tour spot for Strings: A Love Story by Megan Edwards - this book releases 9/12/17!

Book Description:

The Merino Rose. Ted Spencer has a hard enough time believing the celebrated violin really exists. To find it sitting on his coffee table is nothing short of incredible. The stuff of legend, the exquisite Guarnerius has been missing for centuries. 

But even though the renowned instrument is a violin lover's dream come true, it holds only heartache for Ted. The value of the Merino Rose may be beyond measure, but he has acquired it at too high a cost. 

Ted found his soul mate when he met Olivia de la Vega his senior year in high school. In the school's production of Camelot, Ted was cast as Lancelot, Olivia as Guenevere. They should have spent their lives together but strings got in the way--family ties, career objectives, and the tangled web of fate. 

Will the Merino Rose bring the two star-crossed lovers together at last, or will their love always remain the melancholy sound of distant violins?

My Thoughts:

The first Edwards book I've read is Getting Off on Frank Sinatra and I fell in love with it.  (See my review for this here.)  So when I had the opportunity to be on this blog tour, I couldn't pass it up! 

Narrated from first person point of view, Ted.  We see this entire story through his eyes. Falling in love the first time he sees Olivia in high school, this story follows the rich guy falls in love with poor girl method of a romance novel.  Can they overcome their differences?  Will their love last a lifetime?

Told through various points in their lives, it could get a little confusing at times.  I also felt the characters could have been developed just a little bit more.  What exactly is it that made Ted fall in love with Olivia?  I did love that it was told through Ted's eyes.  It's nice to get a love story where it's from the man's point of view.

I absolutely love music so it was great to see music incorporated into this love story.  I wanted more from the violin actually!  At the end of the day, this story reinforces the love can conquer all feeling that we all want to have.  Love that can last through any bumps in the road and across time is never a story that will get old for me.

Author Bio:

Megan Edwards is the author of the travel memoir Roads from the Ashes, the humor book Caution: Funny Signs Ahead, and her debut novel Getting off on Frank Sinatra. She has lived and traveled extensively in Europe and spent nearly seven years “on the road” all over North America. Now at home in Las Vegas, Nevada, she is working on her next novel.

For more information visit or and connect with Megan on FacebookTwitterInstagramPinterest and Goodreads.

Strings: A Love Story is available for pre-order on Amazon and Barnes and Noble and will be available in print and as an e-book, and as an audiobook on September 12, 2107 wherever fine books are sold.

Playlist and Listening Links:

The author put together a fun playlist of the musical pieces referenced in this book:

Camelot, musical by Alan Jay Lerner and Fredreick Loewe
“Star of the County Down,” an Irish ballad
“Simple Gifts,” a Shaker hymn by Elder Joseph Brackett (also used by Aaron Copland for the score of Martha Graham’s ballet Appalachian Spring)
Sonata for Two Violins in C Major, Op. 56, by Sergei Prokofiev
Caprices, Op.1: No. 24 in A Minor, by Niccolo Paganini
Symphony No. 8 in B Minor “Unfinished,” by Franz Schubert
Symphonie espagnole in D Minor, Op. 21, by Edouard Lalo
Violin Concerto No. 3, Op. 61 in B Minor, by Camille Saint-Saens
Violin Concerto in D, Op. 77, by Johannes Brahms

Listening links are found at

No comments

Leave a Comment