Social Media Icons

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

REVIEW: Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce @grandcentralpub @harriet_tyce

Blood Orange
by Harriet Tyce

Thanks so much to Grand Central Publishing for this FANTASTIC read!!
Put this on your radar for February 2019 - you really don't want to miss this!


Publisher:  Grand Central Publishing
Publish Date:  February 19, 2019
Hardcover
352 Pages
Standalone
Genres:  Crime Fiction, Suspense

IT'S ALL MY FAULT. I WANT TO PLEAD GUILTY.
An electrifying debut suspense novel for fans of Paula Hawkins, A.J. Finn, Jessica Knoll, B.A. Paris, or Shari Lapena.

I did it. I killed him. I should be locked up.
Alison, a young lawyer, has just been given her first murder case to defend. Her new client is a meek housewife who doesn't deny that she stabbed her husband. In fact, she's desperate to plead guilty. But the deeper Alison digs into her story, the more she suspects that something is gravely amiss.

Get your hands off me.And in Alison's own life, too, all is not as it seems. With a doting husband, an adorable daughter, and a blossoming career, she has everything she could want, right? But Alison is deeply entangled in a toxic affair with her senior legal partner--a man whose influence helped land her the murder case but whose taste for pushing boundaries may be more than she can handle--and unable to extricate herself. She's in way over her head. And as the murder case escalates, she can't stop her personal life from spinning further and further out of control.

I'm watching you. I know what you're doing.
But someone knows Alison's secret. Someone who wants to make Alison pay for what she's done, and who won't stop until she's lost everything....

A deeply disturbing, toxic and compelling novel that explores the power of fear and desire, jealousy and betrayal, love and hate, BLOOD ORANGE introduces a fresh and distinctive new voice in psychological suspense.

My Review:

Wow!! I absolutely LOVED this book!  I did NOT want to put this down.  

Alison is as flawed a character as you can probably get.  Success lawyer with a husband and daughter at home - yet in an illicit affair with a man she can't stop thinking about.  Her first murder case that has her on edge and wondering what her client is hiding.  Soon it all starts coming down.  You know what they say, when it rains, it pours... and Alison is about to get DRENCHED.

Here's the thing.  I love thrillers and crime fiction and I'm sure you know that if you've been following me at all.  After a certain point, a lot of stories start to sound the same, or the pacing isn't quite what I prefer because I've just read SO MANY OF THEM.  If you ask a lot of thriller reviewers, you'll see that they agree.  This is typically why I like to sprinkle other genre books in between these reads to refresh my brain for a bit.  But then I run into a book like this and I jump for joy, scream from the mountains, do my Snoopy dance and thank the publishing gods for finding Harriet Tyce and Blood Orange.

While the book does talk about the murder case, the main storyline is Alison and her issues and I absolutely LOVE that!  I was so in tuned with everything.  I wanted to know about the murder case, I wanted to know what was going to happen to Alison.  I felt for her and wanted to slap her all at the same time.  I loved the little hints that led you in the wrong direction and while I did figure out one twist, the other (MAIN) one, I did NOT.  

I could gush about this one all day.  Basically it's this - PUT THIS ON YOUR TBR LIST.  February can't come fast enough. I need people to discuss this book with!  Trust me, you don't want to sit on this one.  And Harriet - I hope you're coming out with another one soon because I need more from you!

★★★★★


1 comment:

  1. Getting a prenup is a weird conversation, but if you’re in Los Angeles, consider speaking to our Los Angeles prenup lawyers for a risk free consultation.

    ReplyDelete