Social Media Icons

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Review: Not a Sound by Heather Gudenkauf

Not a Sound by Heather Gudenkauf
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Park Row Books
Publishing May 30, 2017

Fans of Jodi Picoult and Lisa Scottoline, get your hands on this book ASAP!  Pre-order it now! A suspenseful thriller with characters you will love - it's a win win situation... just do it!

Amelia loses her hearing in a fluke accident spiraling into alcoholism as a coping mechanism; she loses her husband, stepdaughter and her job. Finally pulling herself together with the help of her service dog, Stitch, she has a job interview lined up and things are looking up. Then she finds a body of a friend and ex-coworker while kayaking and her life threatens to explode all over again.

How is this my first Heather Gudenkauf book?! I need more of her books ASAP! I fell immediately in love with Amelia and Stitch (let's face it, I'm a sucker for a loyal animal). She did an amazing job of having us live through Amelia's deaf world. Told present day, with some tiny flashbacks here and there, we learn of Amelia's relationships with her husband, stepdaughter, old friends and how huge trauma can change the course of your world with a single, unexpected bang. Her finding her friend's body, a friend she ignored after her accident, she feels obligated to figure out who killed her and why. Starting a course that could worsen her already fragile relationships, she delves into a mystery that could very well cost her life.

I was already in love with this book when I turned the last page.. reading the Author's Note at the end further made me fall. I highly suggest you take the time to read these if you don't already.

Those who like their thrillers on a lighter side will love this one. While I usually like my thrillers more twisty and crazed, on the lighter side of thrillers this is at the top of my list. Sometimes it's about the characters themselves rather than the outcome, don't you think?

View all my reviews

No comments

Leave a Comment