Social Media Icons

Thursday, August 24, 2017

#allthebookreviews: From the Shadows by Neil White @bonnierzaffre @neilwhite1965

From the Shadows
by Neil White
Bonnier Zaffre

Big thank you to Bonnier Zaffre for our copies in return for our honest reviews.

Goodreads Synopsis:

He hides in the shadows, watching, waiting, until the time is right . . .

Mary Kendricks, a smart, pretty, twenty-four-year-old teacher, has been brutally murdered and Robert Carter is accused of killing her.

When defence lawyer, Dan Grant inherits Carter's case only weeks before the trial starts, everyone expects him just to babysit it, but Dan's not that kind of lawyer. He'll follow the evidence - wherever it takes him.

But as Dan and his investigator Jayne Brett look into the case, they discover that there is more to it than meets the eye. In order to do their jobs they need to push the limits of the system, even if it means putting themselves in danger.

Together they will get to the truth - whatever the cost . . .  

My Thoughts: 

This legal thriller is about the murder of Mary Kendricks and the man accused of murdering her.  Dan Grant, the lawyer who inherits this case from another lawyer friend, recruits his investigator, Jayne, to help look into this crime since it's only 2 weeks until trial.  What they uncover puts all their lives in jeopardy.

Welcome to book one in the Dan Grant legal thriller series!  What a great start to the series.  We get a good feel for the two main characters, Dan and Jayne.  While I do wish that sometimes having a man and woman work together wouldn't automatically put them in a maybe romantic or sexual relationships, I did like both of these characters.  The opening scene with Jayne made me snicker and we realize that she is a damaged soul trying to find some peace with herself .. and the only person she really trusts is Dan, who took her on after helping her in her own case in the past.  

This is a well thought out book and you can see how the author brings his own experience as a criminal lawyer and prosecutor to his writing.  As a legal assistant in my day job, I always find legal thrillers quite interesting and especially when they're well written and/or researched.  This book is moderately paced and I did find a little lull as I felt some things were a tad bit repetitive, but you know what, that's law for you!  The last 10-15% ramps up a bit and pulls the entire book together.  Highly recommend for those who like legal thrillers in the vein of Law & Order.  I look forward to continuing this series.

Jessica's Thoughts:

Here is book one in a new series from Neil White. This is my first book by him and it was a great crime fiction read! Murder, police investigation, and a lawyer that won't idly sit by like everyone wants him to, because they all believe his client is guilty of murder.

He is hiding in the shadows - watching you, waiting for his moment. He sneaks into your home when you're gone, hiding under the bed to watch you sleep at night until he decides to strike. Mary Kendricks is a smart, young teacher of just 24, and she has been brutally murdered. Robert Carter has been accused of killing her. Defense attorney, Dan Grant, has been given Carter's case only weeks before the trial date. Since everyone "knows" Carter is guilty, they simply expect Grant to just babysit him until the trial date. Grant is not one to sit by like this, he is determined to defend his client and will follow the evidence. 

His investigator, Jayne Brett, helps him look into the case. They begin to uncover the truth and learn there is a lot more to this case than meets the eye. Will they have to go outside the system in order to find more evidence and defend his client?

This was a great thriller - some courtroom drama, murder, and police investigations thrown in together made for a fast paced read. You can tell that White has extensive knowledge on the topic, between research and being a prosecutor himself. The characters were great and the development was just enough for the reader to be drawn in for the first book in a series. I'm excited to learn more about Dan and Jayne in future novels! 

Overall, if you want an action packed courtroom thriller, then this is the next book for you! A solid start to a new series.

I give this one a solid 4/5 stars!

No comments

Leave a Comment