Social Media Icons

Wednesday, January 6, 2021

Review: The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

The Wife Upstairs 
by Rachel Hawkins

Thank you St. Martin's Press & Booksparks for this copy.


Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publish Date: January 5, 2021
Hardcover
304 Pages
Standalone
Genres: Thriller, Suspense, Retelling

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins's The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates––a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie––not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for.

Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past––or his––catches up to her?

With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won’t stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature’s most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending?

My Review:


A twist on Jane Eyre? Yeah, honestly means nothing to me because I've never read it nor have watched any adaptations. 😲 I know.... I know.... but I am who I am and have really enjoyed a lot of the modern day twists on these classics so really there's no FOMO and for that, I thank you authors who write these!

Hawkins gave us a very suspenseful read and triggered my ever growing need of an isolated huge house somewhere with lots of land and ghostly noises.  It would be my vacation home. 😃 The pacing is moderate and full of suspenseful moments that kept my interest from start to end.  While I never got any *A-HA* moments, I did close the book with a smile (a smirk?) on my face and was highly entertained throughout.

As someone who reads a ton of thrillers, I would put this on the more lighter suspense reads that I absolutely enjoy occasionally and this one happened to fit my mood today.  Even without knowing the classic this sharp take is based on, I easily figured out what was going on and wasn't surprised at any reveals. And I'm perfectly ok with that. I enjoyed the different perspectives and how who I rooted for would change periodically... considering they all seem terrible. *ha*

If you read a ton of thrillers but are looking for something lighter to pick up, definitely add this to your arsenal.  If you're new to the genre, this is a great place to get your domestic suspenseful needs fulfilled.

★★★★

1 comment: